

Professor Gerard Albert Mourou

Foreign Member of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences since 2019

French scientist, professor emeritus and pioneer in the field of electrical engineering and lasers. He was awarded a Nobel Prize in Physics in 2018, for the invention of chirped pulse amplification (CPA), a method of making pulses of laser light of high power and short duration.

Director IZEST, International Center Zettawatt Exawatt Science and Technology Professor Haut College Ecole polytechnique A.D. Moore Distinguished University Professor University of Michigan Professor Physics University of Nizhny Novgorod

Date and place of birth: 22.06.1944 at Alberville, Savoy, France

Education:

B.S., Physics, University of Grenoble, France, 1967Thèse de 3eme cycle., ParisVI, France, 1970Thèse d'Etat Physique, University of Paris VI France, 1973

Professional experience

Membre de l'US National Academy of Engineering

Membre Etranger de l'Académie des Sciences Russe

Membre Etranger de l'Académie des Sciences Autrichienne

Membre Etranger de l'Académie de Sciences et Lettres Lombarde, Italie

Fellow of the Optical Society of America

Fellow of the IEEE

Professeur Membre du Haut Collège de l'Ecole polytechnique 2010

Professor Ecole polytechnique France 2005-2010

Director Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée ENSTA/Ecole Polytechnique (France

Director, Center for Ultrafast Optical Science, a National Science Foundation Science and Technology Center located at the University of Michigan, 1991-2004 Literature, Science & Arts, College of Engineering University of Michigan.

A.D. Moore Distinguished University Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, College of Engineering, University of Michigan, Ultrafast Science Laboratory, 1006 IST Building, 2200 Bonisteel, Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-2099,

Professor, Institute of Optics, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York, March 1987 - 1989.

Division Director, Ultrafast Science Division, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, Rochester, New York, July 1986 - 1988.

Associate Professor, Institute of Optics, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York, September 1983 - March 1987.

Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York, October 1981 - 1988.

Group Leader, Picosecond Research Group, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York, 1979 - 1988.

Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, University of Rochester, Rochester,

New York, 1977 - 1979.

Scientist, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, France, 1974 - 1977.

Postdoctoral Fellowship, San Diego State University, San Diego, California, 1973 - 1974.

Scientific Cooperant, Université Laval, Quebec, Canada, 1970 - 1973.

Honor and Awards:

2018 Physics Nobel Prize recipient

2018 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science

2016 Berthold Leibinger Innovation Prize

2016 F. Ives/J. Quinn Award 2016 from the OSA

2012 Chevalier de la Legion d' Honneur République Française

2012 Chaire d' Excellence J. Beaulieu from Institut National Recherche Scientifique (Quebec)

2012 Honoris Causa Doctorate from the University of Bucharest

2010 Einstein Chair from the Chinese Academy of Science

2010 Winner of the Open Grant Competition of the Russian Federation

2009 Charles H. Townes Award from the Optical Society of America

2007 Grand Prix Carnot from the French National Academy

2005 of the Physics of Quantum Electronics Lamb Medal

2005 Honoris Causa Doctorate, University Laval

2004 Chaire d' Excellence from the French Minister of Research

2004 Quantum Electronic Award from IEEE-LEOS

2002 Russel Award from the University of Michigan (Highest Honor from the University)

2000 College of Engineering Stephen S. Attwood Excellence in Engineering award for the invention of the Chirped Pulse Amplification technique which opened up the field of Strong-field Physics and medical femtosecond surgery.

1999 D. Sarnoff Award from IEEE, for Pioneering contributions to high speed, high intensity optoelectronic measurement techniques, including electro-optic sampling and femtosecond high-voltage introducing the concept of Chirped Pulse Amplification for laser systems to boost optical power peaks to switching

1998 Honoris causa doctorate, University de Quebec

1997 H. Edgerton Award from the SPIE, in Recognition of many significant contributions, both scientific and technical, to the Field Ultrafast Phenomena, foremost among these is the invention of Chirped Pulse Amplification, now used throughout the world in Ultrafast Laboratories.

1997 Honorary Professor, Xi'an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Xi'an, China

1997 Academic Advisor, State Key Laboratory of Transient Optics Technology, Xi'an, China, 1997 1997 Advisory Board Member of the Laboratoire d'Utilization des Lasers Intenses, Ecole Polytechnique, France

1997 Advisory Board Member for the Mathematical and Physical Sciences Directorate of the National Science Foundation

1997 Advisory Board Member for the NSF Nuclear/High Energy Physics, National Science Foundation Center of Excellence, 1997

1996 Visiting Professor, Technical University of Vienna

1995 R. W. Wood Prize, from the OSA, for Contributions to the field of Ultrafast Optics in particular for bringing the peak power to unprecedented levels

1995 Named the A. D. Moore Distinguished University Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

1994 Visiting Professor, Sept. - Dec. 1994 (sabbatical), University of Tokyo, Japan

1994 Professor of Physics - Chaire Municipale, Université Joseph Fourier at Grenoble, France

1991 Research Excellence Award, College of Engineering, University of Michigan

1990 Professor, Institut National de Recherche Scientifique, Universite du Quebec, Quebec, Canada Advisory Board Member for the Center of Theoretical Optics

Member of Editorial Board of Laser Focus

Member of the Board of Editors for Applied Physics B

Chevalier de l'ordre des Palmes Académiques

Publications 387, H index 91 (Google Scholar)

The information is based on a personal file. Photo – www.aps.org

13 03 2019