Lithuanian Science Prizes 2021 Awarded

04 02 2022

On 3 February, the Commission for Lithuanian Science Prizes announced the winners of 2021.

In the fields of the humanities and social sciences, the prizes went to Tomas Baležentis (Lithuanian Centre for Social Sciences) for the research cycle ‘Multicriteria methods for integrated efficiency assessment and economic decision-making’ and to Darius Baronas (Lithuanian Institute of History) for the cycle ‘Studies into Christianity in Lithuania: Political, Social, and Cultural-Historical Cross-Sections (1009–1795)’ (2006–2020).
In the field of physical sciences, the prizes were awarded to Tomas Čeponis, Eugenijus Gaubas, and Juozas Vidmantis Vaitkus (Vilnius University) for the research cycle ‘Investigations into Effects of High Fluence on materials for Radiation Dosimetry and Development of Radiation Technologies’ (2006–2020), and to Petras Rimantas Venskutonis (Kaunas University of Technology) for his research ‘Functional Food Substances: Innovative Production Technologies, New Products, and Applications for Food Safety and Health’ (2006–2020).
Two prizes in the field of biomedical and agricultural sciences went to Vaidutis Kučinskas, Eglė Preikšaitienė, Laima Ambrozaitytė, Loreta Cimbalistienė, and Algirdas Utkus (Vilnius University) for the cycle of studies ‘Genome Rearrangements in Congenital Developmental Disorders of the Central Nervous System: Origins, Genomic Mechanisms, Functional and Clinical Consequences’ (2007–2020), and to Jurgita Skiecevičienė, Laimas Virginijus Jonaitis, Gediminas Kiudelis, and Juozas Kupčinskas (Lithuanian University of Health Sciences) for the cycle of research studies ‘Tumour and Inflammatory Diseases of the Gastrointestinal System: New Molecular Biomarkers, Clinical-Epidemiological Aspects, and Modern Therapeutic Approaches’ (2010–2020).
In the field of technological sciences, the Lithuanian Science Prize was awarded to Gintautas Dzemyda and Olga Kurasova (Vilnius University) for the research cycle ‘From Data Science to Artificial Intelligence Technologies’ (2006–2020).

Information of the Commission for Lithuanian Science Prizes

Translation: Diana Barnard